Need assistance?

North American support:

Phone support: (541) 683-6162

Email: help@paloalto.com


International support:

Phone support: +353 21 497 1335

Email: support@paloalto.co.uk

What is SecurePlan.com?

SecurePlan.com is a free service included with Business Plan Pro and Sales and Marketing Pro, the popular business planning and marketing planning software. It enables users to post their business plans and marketing plans securely online and then share them with people they know to review and discuss.

How do I upload a to SecurePlan.com?

You need to use Business Plan Pro or Sales and Marketing Pro. Just start the software and open your plan. On the File menu, point to Send To, and click SecurePlan.com. Then follow the step-by-step directions to upload your plan.

This short video walks you through the uploading process:

The video content presented here requires JavaScript to be enabled and the latest version of the Macromedia Flash Player. If you are you using a browser with JavaScript disabled please enable it now. Otherwise, please update your version of the free Flash Player by downloading here.

If you have an earlier version of Business Plan Pro or Sales and Marketing Pro, you will need to upgrade to Version 12 in order to publish to the current generation of SecurePlan.com. See the Upgrades page for half-priced product upgrades.

Can just anyone see my plan? Will it show up in Google?

No, SecurePlan.com is a private, secure website. Its contents are not indexable in search engines, and no one can view anyone else's plan without being invited to do so. The only way that anyone will see your plan is if you add them to the list of viewers on the Share tab.

I uploaded my plan. Now how do I see it?

Log in to SecurePlan.com using the email address and password you specified during the upload process. On the My Plans tab, you will see a list of plans that you have uploaded or that others have shared with you. To open one of these plans, just click the plan name link.

How do I invite other people to review my plan?

Log in to SecurePlan.com, then click the My Plans tab. Click the plan name link for the plan you want to share, then click the Share tab. Follow the simple instructions to send invitations to the person or people you want to be able to see this plan.

If I invite someone to view a plan, will they get access to all of my plans?

No. The sharing feature is plan specific: when you invite someone to view a plan, they can see only that plan. If you want to share several plans with someone, you will need to send them a separate invitation for each plan.

Someone invited me to review their plan. How do I see it?

Click the link in the invitation email. This will take you to SecurePlan.com and walk you through the process of setting up a free account. (You can use your existing account if you already have one.) Then click the My Plans tab, and you should see the newly shared plan on your list. Just click the plan name link to view it.

What can I do with the plan viewer?

SecurePlan.com uses Adobe's PDF format to display the content of your business or marketing plan. With the built-in PDF viewer, you can read the content of the document, zoom in or out, switch pages, print a physical copy, etc. You can also switch the viewer to full-screen mode to see as much as possible at once — just click the View Full Screen button.

The one notable thing that you cannot do in the PDF viewer is edit the content itself. PDF is more like a snapshot, a fixed representation of the content, rather than an editable file like a Microsoft Word document. Any edits must be made to the source file in Business Plan Pro or Sales and Marketing Pro, then uploaded again to SecurePlan.com.

When reviewing a plan, can I add comments?

Absolutely. Discussion is an important part of reviewing a business or marketing plan. When you are viewing a plan on SecurePlan.com, a comment box will appear to the right of the plan viewer. Just enter your comment, then click Post Comment. Your comment will appear below the plan viewer, and will be prefaced with your name and the date when you added it.

Can I save a copy of the plan I am viewing for offline access?

Yes, but the plan author can control what type of file you get. Everyone invited to view a plan can save it as a PDF file. PDFs can be viewed and printed — but not edited — with free software such as Adobe Reader.

If you want someone to be able to edit or update the content of your plan, you can click a checkbox during the sharing process that allows them to save a copy of the plan in Business Plan Pro or Sales and Marketing Pro format. That will enable them to download a copy of your source file. Be sure to select this option only for individuals that you want to have full editing rights to your plan and who own their own licensed copy of Business Plan Pro or Sales and Marketing Pro. Also, be aware that they will NOT be able to upload the edited plan to your SecurePlan.com account or override your own plan files.

How do I remove a plan from the list under My Plans?

To the left of each plan on the list is a trashcan icon. Just click the icon next to the plan you want to remove. If it is your own plan, this will remove the plan from SecurePlan.com, and it will disappear from the My Plans list for anyone with whom you have shared it. If it is a plan that someone else has invited you to review, it will just disappear from your list.

How do I change my password?

Log in to SecurePlan.com using your current password, click the My Account tab, and enter a new password in the Password and Confirm Password fields.

If you cannot remember your password, just click the "Forgot your password?" link on the login screen, and we will email a link to reset it.

I don't want to use SecurePlan.com anymore. Can I just delete my account?

Sure. Just click the My Account tab, then click "Delete this account." Be certain you want to take this action, because its effects are wide-ranging and irreversible:

If you just want to remove a particular plan, you can use the trashcan icon next to the plan on the My Plans list to remove it, keeping your account intact.